We had a nice reprieve from the heat this Saturday and a trip to the beach brought some friends out to Robert Moses for some sun, food, and barbeque.

I’d woken up at 7am that morning to run out and get some groceries, thinking that I’d like to be able to make something to bring with me… something to counterbalance all the meats that the boys will surely be grilling and inhaling. With only a couple of hours before my ride would come pick me up, I pulled out a side dish staple, the Butternut Squash and Cauliflower Salad, this time adding some halved grape tomatoes and subbing in barley for quinoa, and made a quick dessert of Matcha Rice Krispie Treats (completely inspired by the one I had at The Matcha Box, a pop up shop which has unfortunately packed up indefinitely).

Roasted butternut squash, cauliflower, tomato, and goat cheese salad.

Matcha Rice Kripies Treats

Matcha Rice Krispies Treats

  • 3 tbsp of butter
  • matcha powder, to taste
  • 4 cups of mini marshmallows
  • 6 cups of rice krispies cereal

Melt the butter in a pot over the stove and add the matcha powder. I wanted a very distinct matcha taste, so I added a lot – probably almost 2 heaping teaspoons worth. Stir powder well into the melted butter and add the marshmallows. Once it has all melted together, take the pot off the heat and add the cereal. Carefully mix and pat into a greased pan.

I also made a matcha glaze to go over the treats, unfortunately, there wasn’t enough contrast in the colors. That was made simply with confectioners sugar, a bit of water, and more matcha powder.


Checkin out Patrick’s gravity defying hair.

Enjoying some treats! (yes, that is the look of enjoyment on his face.)

