It’s hot in the city and what’ll make it hotter is a man in the kitchen! (Literally and figuratively, of course.)

I should consider myself lucky that on one of the hottest days of the year, I had someone volunteer to make me dinner at my apartment – a barely air conditioned (not by choice), and humid furnace of cat hair and scattered shoes. (Is that not the perfect picture of single life?) If the awfully uncomfortable weather wasn’t enough to put me in a bad mood, a recent collection of photographic evidence of weight gain surely was, and to placate this sweaty mess of what used to resemble a girl, my trooper of a bf came up with a clever substitution for his dinner dish. Move over, heavy cream…


Pasta with Sugar Snap Peas and Serrano Ham

  • sugar snap peas
  • garlic
  • basil leaves
  • serrano ham
  • greek yogurt
  • pasta of choice

He set a pot of salted water to boil as I stood, hovering in the doorway clutching a quickly condensating glass of wine. After a quick consultation on what the correct amount of pasta is (for this weight watching girl), the gemelli goes into the water. While the pasta is cooking, a saute pan is heated up with a miniscule amount of oil (whether or not this was on account of me, I didn’t dare to ask!) and in goes finely minced garlic, a couple of cloves worth, and the sugar snap peas. Being careful to not undercook the peas (there is nothing I dislike the taste of more), he stirs it around for a while, I believe salt was then added (I might have snuck away to surf the web for a bit, after being accused of hovering too much) and then adds a good plop of greek yogurt and the pasta. Then everything is tossed together, with some shredded serrano ham and basil. Delicious!

The man at work. It had to be documented.

