It was a rare Saturday night (of last week) that I had to myself, when I got a phone call from my childhood best friend, asking me if I’d had any plans. Knowing full well that Memorial Day weekend was going to be capped off with a BBQ blowout at FDR park the next day, I hesitated to accept a dinner date out in the city and opted to save some money and avoid potential over indulging. Instead, I invited her over to have some mussels with me – a luxurious purchase at a Chinatown bargain price of $3.50.

A quick run to the neighborhood supermarket for a batch of fresh basil, I set up dinner preparations. Cheap, fast, and delicious!

Mussels with Tomato & Basil

  • 1 bag of mussels
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • red pepper flakes
  • salt, pepper
  • white wine
  • fresh basil

Clean mussels. In a pot, heat up olive oil and toss in the chopped tomatoes. Then add garlic and red pepper flakes, season with salt and pepper. Add the clams and pour white wine over it. About 1/4 of a cup is my guess. Maybe 1/2 a cup. Put a lid over it and wait a couple of minutes for the mussels to open up, being careful not to overcook them. Remove the lid and toss in the chopped basil. Stir, and serve.

