Life in NYC is undoubtedly never lacking in excitement nor entertainment, and the perks of a rare architectural position commanding a humble 9-5 workday was rare. This contributed greatly, if not entirely, to my developing interest in cooking.

This week marks the beginning of a new adventure for me… One involving an environment consisting of an endless barrage of tourists and beautiful people, crowded streets lined with restaurants like Balthazar and Delicatessen and cafes constantly baking and replenishing their supplies of croissants, quiches, and loaves of bread. Plus bars! And shopping! Oh and much longer hours at work, plus days extended even later to include my now freelance gig at my old job. How I will find the time to experiment beyond the quick veggie stir-fry’s, I’m not sure, but I suppose once the stream of congratulatory and farewell dinners and indulgences, both celebrating a change that is exciting and sad, subsides, and I settle down into what will become my new schedule… we’ll find out.

I’ve said goodbye to my daily morning wheat bagel, and have been welcoming a wider variety of choices for much more money ($12 bowl of yogurt, granola, and fruit, anyone? Ouch!). I have a feeling by the end of this week, having 2 jobs will actually cause me to have to move into a cardboard box on the corner of Spring Street (where I will fight the Balthazar rats for scraps!). But for tonight, a quick (and much later than usual) dinner of chinese broccoli and salmon. Nice and light… and a familiar taste of home cooking.

