Wrapping up the trip to Chicago…

Sunday was a bright and early start which allowed me plenty of time to post the Saturday festivities before catching the train to meet up with Erica, a long-time high school friend I hadn’t seen since her move back to Chicago. With worse dating stories than mine, sadly the hour and a half of time we scheduled was barely enough to fully catch up.

Catching a cab, we headed up to find The Bad Apple, home of supposedly one of the best burgers he’d ever had, claims the bf. Unfortunately the bar was closed for a private party that day, so we headed across the street to Chalkboard, thereby stumbling upon perhaps one of the better chicken and waffle places ever. Another cab ride away, we stopped by Molly’s Cupcakes, (also visited by fellow cupcake lover, Tiff) where I found my new favorite cupcake flavor: Tiramisu!

Tiramisu Cupcakes
Image, cropped and edited, originally from Yelp.com

I promptly and unceremoniously destroyed it.

Check out the beautiful interior layers of coffee soaked cupcake and… possibly mascarpone?

Chocolate Chip cupcake with a cookie dough filling

“Molly” pops: Blueberry cheesecake and red velvet, apparently made from the cores of the hollowed out cupcakes.

After the cupcakes had been obliterated, I vowed never to eat one ever again, or until the nausea subsides (which I estimated would take at least a couple of weeks, if not months… ha! A glutton could only dream.). We headed over to watch the Bulls get their ass kicked by the Cavaliers. (insert sad face here. I am actually more of  a Bulls fan, though purely for nostalgic reasons)

The crowd here was a lot more lively than the one at the White Sox game on Friday.

Before we knew it, it was time to race a cab back to pack and I was dropped off at the airport… 30 minutes before my boarding time! Without a minute to lose, Louboutin heels and Prada dress (outfit from Alinea) first in the bag, followed by the less important things like… underwear and toothbrush.

What a weekend! Landed in LGA around 10pm, greeted by an alert that my tweets are now being followed by Benny the Bull. A quick snack (the final 2 “more”sels from More cupcakes, yes.. I know I said I’d wait a week…) and it was off to bed! Ahh… back in NYC.

It ended in as much of a whirlwind as it had started:

Thursday: avec
Friday: XOCO, White Sox vs. Mariners, Cibo Matto
Saturday: Hannah’s Bretzel, More Cupcakes, Alinea, Chicago Theater
Sunday: coffee and catch-up with Erica, Chalkboard, Molly’s Cupcakes, Bulls vs. Cavaliers

