After a two day defrost in the fridge, I decided to change the original plan, which was to make chicken soup for a sick day, and instead try something different… a roast!

I’m not the biggest fan of chicken because it tends to be mostly bland and dry, but I do love the rotisserie chicken at Boston Market. And barbeque chicken. Unfortunately after googling “Boston Market chicken” and turning up mostly bogus recipes, I decided to go simple and virtually fool-proof. If anything, I could use the leftovers for barbeque chicken or pasta.

Easy Roast Chicken

  • salt
  • pepper
  • thyme
  • olive oil

Wrestle, twist, and chop the neck and feet off the chicken if you have a ghetto Asian chicken like mine. (Yep, they sell chicken with the HEAD still attached at the Chinese markets!) Remove the organs on the inside, rinse, and pat dry. Drizzle and rub the olive oil all over the chicken, sprinkle with salt and pepper, and stuff some thyme in the butt. Bake at 425 for about an hour, or until a thermometer inserted in the meaty thigh reads 165.

I was not joking about the “simple.”

